Extreme Makeover: Website Edition

Extreme Makeover: Website Edition

Publication of my first novel, Freshman Focus, is weeks away!  In preparation for the December 2006 publication date, I decided it was time for my website to get a makeover.  I solicited the professional expertise of my dear friend and sorority sister, Kelli Sibert, to transform the site.  With new features and colors, CarlaSarratt offers a preview of artwork from Freshman Focus.  You can see what my talented illustrator Janeane Bady created as the book logo of the school mascot, the African warrior.

As soon as I confirm the date that Freshman Focus will be available for purchase, I will let everyone know.  I anticipate that the book will be available by December 15, 2006 and will make wonderful gifts for friends and family members.  The book will be sold for $14.95 per copy plus shipping and handling.  You will be able to purchase directly from my website via Pay Pal, Amazon, and Barnes&Noble.com. 

The Bookshelf

Thank you to everyone who purchased a copy of Surfacing:  Phenomenal Women on Passion, Politics, and Purpose!  It is now officially available for purchase at Amazon, Barnes&Noble.com, and Surfacing.  I wrote two stories, “Chase Your Purpose” and “Welcome to Negrotopia” as well as one poem, “Soul Kiss” for the anthology.

In 2005, I submitted an essay to Gumbo for the Soul:  The Recipe for Literacy in the African-American Community, an anthology designed to promote awareness of literacy.  Tavis Smiley states that “Gumbo for the Soul dares to call it like it is. This serving of Gumbo is a must-read for every parent, teacher, mentor and all who believe it is important that our children can read and comprehend the English language.”  With a foreword by Heather Covington and book cover art by Synthia Saint James, Gumbo for the Soul will benefit both a literacy program and scholarship fund.  Pre-order your copy of the anthology at Gumbo for the Soul.

MySpace

I have joined MySpace as another way of networking.  If you are a member, add me to your friends list.  http://www.myspace.com/writeon1913

Mailing List

If you are not already a member of the mailing list, I encourage you to join today.  There will be a drawing on December 15, 2006 for two members of the mailing list to receive a free, autographed copy of Freshman Focus.

If you no longer wish to be a member of the mailing list, unsubscribe using the link below.

