The Clique & Awareness Magazine

Happy Women’s History Month

Where there is a woman, there is magic. ~ Ntozake Shange

Women have broken through the glass ceiling, and they’re now more and more in the power seats. ~ Aretha Franklin

The Clique

In February, I was interviewed by fellow young adult author Paula Chase, author of So Not the Drama.  Check out the interview in the Clique Lounge.  Find out which character from Freshman Focus enters a Celebrity Death Match with the main character from another book.  Read who I would like to see cast as the main characters in the movie version of Freshman Focus.  Get the inside scoop as to what type of shoe I am.

Awareness Magazine

In February, I was approached by James Lisbon, publisher of Awareness Magazine, to promote my book in the New York City area as well as help the Awareness Magazine Intern Program which is a program that introduces young adults to the magazine industry through a summer intern program.  I agreed and am now an Author Helping Our Youth and it has provided me another promotional opportunity as well as contributing to a program that helps our youth explore career opportunities in the media related fields.

R.A.W. Sistaz

If you are a cyberspace nomad as well as a book lover, you have heard of R.A.W. Sistaz (Reading and Writing Sistaz) which is an online book club started in 2000.  Not only are they a book club, but they are also book reviewers through four different newsletters.  They’ve been featured in Essence magazine as well as Black Expressions catalog. I recently submitted my information to be featured among the spotlighted authors on their website.  Check it out!

Movin’ on Up

In January and February, I contacted many libraries and Upward Bound programs as well as chapters in my sorority to introduce them to Freshman Focus with the hopes that many would be interested enough to read it and consider adding it to their library collections or implementing it within Upward Bound programs or the chapters’ youth mentoring groups.  I am happy to report that several have expressed an interest and are reading it now to decide if Freshman Focus is right for them. 

However, the first library to add Freshman Focus to their shelves is the Cuyahoga County Public Library in Ohio.  If you recall, I spoke at the Warrensville Heights branch in February.  Their staff embraced the book and recommended that it be added to several branches.  For those in Cuyahoga County, look for Freshman Focus on a library shelf near you soon.  Take a picture of it and e-mail it to me please!

The Divine Literary Tour

On Saturday, March 3, 2007, along with three other authors, I traveled to Athens, Georgia to have a panel discussion with the NPHC at the University of Georgia.  We met with approximately fifty college students and addressed issues that relate to fraternity and sorority relationships, effectiveness in the community, and collaboration within the NPHC.  If you are interested in having the Divine Literary Tour speak at your school, please let me know and I can forward your information to the tour coordinator.

Book Reviews

If you’ve read Freshman Focus and feel comfortable writing a review for Amazon or Barnes & Noble, please do so.  The reviews from other readers are critical and attract prospective readers.  Currently, there is one review and it is getting lonely for some company so I would really appreciate it if you would do that for me.

Reminders

Add newsletter@carlasarratt.com to your e-mail address book to insure delivery of the newsletters to your e-mail inbox.

If you are interested in having me do an appearance or book signing in your area, e-mail me.

The previous newsletters as well as recommended reading for teenagers are now available on the website.

