Tis the Season

Turkey and all of the traditional and nontraditional Thanksgiving day foods have been eaten, the Black Friday sales hoopla has left its mark in your wallets and bank accounts, and the fate has been decided for more college football teams.  Tis the season, indeed.

For the last week, I have been reflecting on what I am thankful for this year.  I am thankful for health and stability with a few ups and downs.  Undoubtedly, I am thankful for my family and friends, with special emphasis this year on my grandmother surpassing the odds and doctor’s expectations.

Althea Gibson said, “No matter what accomplishments you achieve, somebody helped you.”  And she couldn’t be more correct. 

I am thankful to have accomplished my dream of publication this year, “meeting” my author peers who share with me their tricks and tools of the trade, the people that I have met at my book signings, the libraries and bookstores that stock Freshman Focus

I am thankful to my mother for setting up my initial book signings, for pushing me to keep going along the way.

I am grateful for my website designer for going above and beyond the call of duty with maintaining the website, Myspace, and answering my HTML queries.

Hats off to my talented illustrator who is working her magic on the drawings that will be in Just Be!

Thank you Paula and Varian for creating The Brown Bookshelf and inviting me to be a part of it.  If you haven’t checked out The Brown Bookshelf, what are you waiting for?  We are gearing up for the 28 Days Later Campaign as well as blogging every day. 

I am pleased and humbled to have been nominated for a CybilFreshman Focus is one of 123 nominated titles in the young adult fiction category.

And finally, I am thankful to all of you for visiting the website, telling others about the site, purchasing the book, liking it, and telling others to purchase Freshman Focus as well.

