Presenting the Fab Four of CGW High: Miss Destiny C. Jameson

First there was Whitley Gilbert on A Different World.  Then, we met the fabulous wig wearing Regine Hunter on Living Single.  But both of those divas need to move over and make way for Destiny C. Jameson of Freshman Focus.  If you’ve read Freshman Focus, you recall the emotional rollercoaster that Destiny took you on.  At first you roll your eyes when she speaks, then you find yourself gritting your teeth, and just as your teeth are about to fade to dust, Destiny has you ready to step into a boxing ring with her to go a few rounds.  Destiny’s not always likeable, but she is painfully honest with everyone.  And that’s what I like and respect about her even if I disagree with some of her views.

 Favorite Nickname:  Nicknames are for common folks.  My name is too fabulous to be substituted for a nickname.

Birthplace:  This isn’t the 1800s.  I was born in a hospital.

Number of candles that appeared on your last birthday cake: 14

Date that you regularly blow them out:  Why not just ask me what is my birthday?  My birthday is November 12th.  But I don’t put candles on my cake because it is tres unsanitary to blow them out and serve your guests a delicious cake topped with icing and your saliva.  No thank you!

Height: 5’3

Piercings: 4, both ears have 2 piercings.  And no I don’t plan to pierce anywhere else.

If you could have chosen your name, what would it have been?  I love my name! Destiny Colette Jameson is the perfect name for me so I think my mother’s choice is the best one for me.  It’s not like she named me D’estiny, for heaven’s sake.

What time do you wake up in the morning? I set my alarm for 6:00 AM during the school year but during the summer and on weekends, I wake up around 8:00 or 9:00.

Croutons or Bacon Bits:  Croutons are my preference as that is much more cultured to have on a salad than a jar of bacon parts.

Chocolate or Vanilla:  Chocolate

Salad Dressing:  I prefer the raspberry vinaigrette as it gives my salad just enough flavoring without overwhelming the salad.

Favorite fast food place:  I don’t consume products from those ungodly places . . . Okay, fine I admit that I have an intense infatuation with Showmars.

Favorite drink: Green tea

Favorite kitchen appliance? I love the waffle maker that our housekeeper uses to make her delicious waffles.

Sushi or hamburger:  Sushi, of course

Favorite pizza toppings:  I just love mushrooms on my pizza.

Favorite condiment on a hot dog:  Hot dogs are far too gross to eat.

White or wheat bread?  Wheat bread

Bagels or donuts?  Bagels from Panera

Favorite color:  Teal is my favorite color.

Favorite day of the week:  Saturdays because I can sleep in, go get my hair and nails done and go shopping.

Favorite subject in school: English

Favorite holiday:  My birthday is the only holiday that really matters.

Favorite number: 1 because as Jill Scott said, “1 is the magic number.”

Favorite movies:  The Wiz, Lady Sings the Blues, The Josephine Baker Story, Introducing Dorothy Dandridge and Mahogany

Favorite place to be:  I love going to the spa to be pampered.

Least favorite place to be: Sitting near Lamar

Favorite article of clothing:  Shoes

Favorite TV show: America’s Next Top Model

Favorite season: Summer, the clothes and shoes are better then plus I can travel more since we’re on vacation from school.

Do you have any pets?  No, we’re not a pet family.

Are you the dumper or dumpee?  Must you really waste your time asking me that?  I will never be dumped.  Ever.  Why would anyone want to break up with me?

Do you prefer a 2 door or 4 door car?  4 doors unless it is a 2 seater car like my father’s Maserati

What color socks are you wearing right now?  Green socks

What is the title of the last book you read?  It Chicks by Tia Williams.  I could show them a thing or two about what it really is to be an it chick!

What is under your bed?  Two rollers that fell out of my head one night and I am just too lazy to pick them up.  There, now you see I am not totally perfect.

What is your favorite song of the moment?  “Hate on Me” by Jill Scott.  That might become my new anthem plus she uses my name in the song.

If you could play any instrument, what would it be? I would love to be able to play the drums.  I think it would be good to let out some of my pent up aggression after a long day of listening to Lamar and Kendra.

If you could have one super power, what power would it be? I would have fashion powers.  I would be able to make the badly dressed look better just with a wiggle of my nose.  For those who like to wear boots in the summer, I would zap the boots off their feet and put them in summer appropriate footwear.

Where do you see yourself in five years?  Out of high school and in college, of course.  I will either attend Spelman like my mother or go to college in another country.  I’ll major in something related to fashion.

What is your best accomplishment to date?  My life is an accomplishment.  Everything I do is an accomplishment.  Just waking up in the morning is an accomplishment for me.  I don’t need certificates to recognize my accomplishments.

Where would you most like to live in the future?  I don’t want to live in just one place.  I plan to have enough money like my parents to allow me to have a brownstone in New York City as that will be my primary residence, a home in Los Angeles, and homes in Paris and Milan.

How many states have you visited?  People keep track of stuff like this?  I’ve visited many states but some are not worthy of visiting but I was on the road with my mother who has fans everywhere, plus I have traveled internationally and I don’t just mean Canada.  Only states I refuse to visit are Montana, Idaho, Alaska, North and South Dakota, and Wyoming.

What is your bedtime?  Who do I look like I am?  I haven’t had a bedtime since the fourth grade.  I go to bed when I feel like it.  Most evenings, that’s between 10:00 and 11:00.

Are you left handed or right handed?  Right handed

What are four words that describe you? The best there is

What brand of toothpaste do you use? Colgate

Would you rather go bowling or roller skating?  I would rather go roller skating but I own my own skates because there is no way on earth I will ever put my feet into some rental skates.  Most of those rental skates look like they are 20 years old and worn by way too many people that a little bit of spray will remedy their presence.

What four musical acts would you most want to see in concert together? Ciara, Alicia Keys, Beyonce, and Ne-Yo

Who is most likely to respond to this?  Lamar because he actually thinks people will care enough about him to read all of his answers.

If you had to purchase a gift for Steven, what would it be? A photo album for him and his brothers to take a bunch of pictures of their new family.

If you had to purchase a gift for Lamar, what would it be? I would give Lamar the chance to practice with the Barons for a week so he can learn a few things about basketball and how good he really is.

If you had to purchase a gift for Kendra, what would it be?  I would buy her tickets to see The Lion King musical when it comes to Charlotte.

