Customer Service Ain’t What It Used to Be

 

Monday evening I had to go back to a store to return something for a different size.  I won’t mention the store where this took place, but suffice it to say I grew up going to this store.  So I walk in, grab the correct size and go to the customer service desk.  I stand waiting for the young man to help me as he talked to his co-worker.

He finally heads to his register and just looks at me.  Doesn’t say one word.  I approach the counter and let him know what I need and hand him the items and receipt.  He handles the exchange and hands me the item and receipt back.  I left the register like I always do, “Thank you and have a good evening.”

And he never said a mumbling word.

Not “Hi.”

Not “Thank you.”

Not “Bye.”

And it blew my mind.  I mean I know it is the holiday season and he handles a lot of crazy returns and exchanges, but come on I used to work in retail too.  If a person comes correct with you, do unto them the way they did you too.  Thank you doesn’t cost a thing to anybody.

And people wonder why I like to shop online, lol.  Amazon always says thank you.

4 Responses to “Customer Service Ain’t What It Used to Be”

  1. Don Says:

    That is too funny, I’m laughing out loud. Not at you and the cash register, but at the cartoon.

  2. carlasarratt Says:

    That cartoon made me laugh too. Thanks to Google for supplying me with the cartoon. 🙂

  3. Melody Says:

    I have THE worst experience with customer service, be it at retail stores, restraunts, drive-thrus, etc. No one has ever died from saying hello!

  4. carlasarratt Says:

    “No one has ever died from saying hello!”

    That’s a good point!

Comments are closed.


