Workout Wednesday #1

An hour of basketball feels like 15 minutes.  An hour on a treadmill feels like a weekend in traffic school.  ~David Walters 

It’s no secret that I am on a quest to lose weight, work out on a more regular basis, and be healthier overall as a person.  So let’s hear it for Workout Wednesdays!  This is where I’ll post a quote, share a gym tale or two, exercise tips, and just the ups and downs of working out.

I’m getting better with staying on the elliptical for longer than 5 or 6 minutes.  What I do is print out pages of TWOP posters dishing about The Biggest Loser to read while on there.  Not only does it distract me from thinking about the time, but I am also motivated to keep working towards my own fitness goals.  The other night I did close to 20 minutes, and followed it with 40 minutes on the treadmill.  My new goal is to do 500 calories of cardio plus my strength training.  A guy friend mentioned a “300 Workout” which I Googled to discover this is a workout that actors do to get really muscular.  So this past Sunday, I did 100 reps of 3 different weights on the machines that work my quads.  That was as close to the 300 Workout as I was going to get. It was pretty cool thanks to my music.  As long as I have music, I am good to go.  Most days.

Share what you’re doing when you’re in the gym exercising.

2 Responses to “Workout Wednesday #1”

  1. Melody Says:

    I too am trying to lose weight and get healthier. I get bored when I’m doing the treadmill and I think that makes me want to quit sooner than I should. Well, I did something the other day that I’ve seen people do but never tried–I covered up the time on the treadmill. That really helped. I just enjoyed my iPod and didn’t realize how quickly the time passed!

  2. carlasarratt Says:

    That is a good tip and one I do all of the time. It is really helpful on the elliptical. When you get in the zone of the music, you can somewhat forget all the sweating that you are doing, lol.

Comments are closed.


