TV Talk Thursday #1

I admit that I watch a lot of TV and heaven help me if I ever get TiVo or a DVR!  Current must see TV shows include Ugly Betty, The Game, The Biggest Loser, Desperate Housewives, and Extreme Makeover.  I won’t even mention my HGTV favorite shows or my addiction to Snapped!

I watched Desperate Housewives Sunday and was happy to see Tom and the kids emerge alive, but a little sad at Carlos being blind.  I guarantee Gabrielle will leave him by May Sweeps, or whenever the writer’s strike ends and we have the intense eps return to end the season.  I did laugh at Gabrielle in the garage faking grief and Bree pimping Andrew out to the gay contractor to get her roof built.  Leave it to Susan to ruin that.

I watch Bad Girls Club and it makes me so tired to watch Tanisha yell and scream and “pop off” on her roommates, son!  But lest she show up here and POP OFF on me, I will keep my thoughts to myself, Son!

Reality Check

Last week, I was treated to Michael Urie as I watched the premiere of Miss America: Reality Check on TLC.  52 Miss America contestants, Michael Urie, challenges, judges.  It’s like America’s Next Top Model minus the eliminations and Miss Jay.  There are only 3 episodes left but the show aims to show us the contestants beyond just the one night pageant.  The goal is to get us to see and become familiar with the Miss America contestants.  I like it so far.  It’s mindless TV on a Friday night plus last week, we were treated to Stacy and Clinton from What Not to Wear critique some of the delightful clothes the contestants like to wear.  It was interesting to hear their thoughts on premarital sex because they all thought it was bad and everyone should wait until they are married.

Jesse and Angie return to All My Children

Yesterday I got so amped when a friend told me that Jesse and Angie (Darnell Williams and Debbie Morgan) were returning to All My Children.  When they first premiered on All My Children, I was in the first grade.  But I remember being able to see them sometimes.  I went on Wikipedia where a devoted fan has chronicled their existence and I was amazed at how much I remembered about the show.  Angie returns on 1.18.08 and Jesse returns ALIVE on 1.25.08.  I should be ashamed to admit that I am leaving work at 12:30 on both Fridays to see them on TV, but I’m not.  Ashamed, that is.

I’m Afraid of the Impending Ugliness on Ugly Betty

Amanda, Mark, and Betty look just as frightened at what could happen.

Let’s see, the season premiere confirmed Santos died. *sigh* I am still not over that.  And then Bradford Meade died but not before Wilhemina could grab a crucial part of him. *blech* I can only imagine what will happen on tonight’s last new episode until the writer’s strike ends.  One day.  What will happen with Betty and Henry?  Will Wilhemina have twins or triplets?  Will we ever see Claire Meade again?  Who will be next to die on the show?  Now that Alexis in charge, until Wilhemina’s baby is born and she contests the will, what does that mean for Daniel?

So many questions, so many possibilities.

