Parting is Such Sweet Sorrow

 

We write frankly and fearlessly but then we “modify” before we print. ~ Mark Twain

A successful book is not made of what is in it, but what is left out of it. ~ Mark Twain

Nothing you write, if you hope to be good, will ever come out as you first hoped. ~ Lillian Hellman

Writing is fun, but editing and revising not so much.  Recently I received the edited version of Just Be back filled with changes that needed to be made and scenes/chapters to be revised, deleted, etc.  And a thought kept coming back to me – I write too much, lol.  No really. I can only imagine how much I aggravated my editor with my wordiness.

It’s funny, but I started writing Just Be in 2004 when it was just a file called book2 and later became CGWBook2.  Oooooh, lol.  Before I sent it to be edited, there were some scenes I wanted to either revise or eliminate altogether.  It was good for Shon to affirm my feelings in her professional opinion.

When I finished writing Just Be, it was 400 pages double spaced and now I’m down to about 340 pages.  It’s a trip to realize that some parts of the book that I spent days working out the logistics in my mind before actually writing the scene are now gone.  I’m not sad though.  Ultimately, it’s for the good of the book.

But looking at all of the missing pieces makes me think of a movie.  You know with the advent of DVDs, we are afforded the opportunity to see the deleted scenes.  Am I the only one who sees some of the deleted scenes and think they would go quite nicely in the movie especially when it builds on to the plot and it’s only like a 45 second deletion anyway?  Probably so.

So I got to thinking this week now that I am done chopping the book down and deleting scenes, that maybe I will feature some of the deleted scenes here on the good old blog.  So stay tuned to see what was cut out of Just Be.

And maybe, just maybe, when I write book 3, I will be less wordy.

One Response to “Parting is Such Sweet Sorrow”

  1. Don Says:

    I’d love to read some of Just Be, I’ll stop by soon.

Comments are closed.


