28 Days Later Off to a Great Start

The Brown Bookshelf has had a great start to 28 Days Later!  In the first five days of our launch, we have featured interviews with Christopher Paul Curtis, Michelle Meadows, Dana Davidson, Rita Williams-Garcia, G. Neri, and Sean Qualls.

In January, I researched and read everything I could get my hands on about Rita Williams-Garcia.  I learned a lot about her and her writing career as I prepare questions to ask her.  Last week, I received her responses and I loved them.  Her personality shines through and you don’t just learn about her journey, but she lets us know about one of her peers, Jacqueline Woodson. 

She shares with us what music helped her write her books as well as how a box of Jiffy cornbread inspired a short story called “Clay.”

As I researched, I realized that her first novel Blue Tights was published 20 years ago when I was in the 7th or 8th grade depending on date of publication.  But to show just how much perseverance matters, she first started writing Blue Tights in 1980 when I was a kindergartener.

A number of authors and lit groups have aligned themselves with our mission and are championing our cause including author Cynthia Leitich Smith who featured all 5 of us in an interview last week.  Check it out!

I respect all of my African American children’s literature peers and trailblazers, but that respect has deepened thanks to The Brown Bookshelf.

Tags: , , , ,


