Wouldn’t Take Nothing For My Journey Now 6

Now that the book is published and available for purchase, as an author, you have to promote it.  I e-mailed my mailing list and everyone in my address book on the day Freshman Focus arrived.  I normally don’t do that, but I made an exception like new mothers do when they send us the link to the newborn baby’s photos on the hospital website.

I posted a blog on MySpace and did the MySpace bulletin.  I joined the Divine Literary Tour, a group of authors who belong to NPHC fraternities and sororities.  Through the Divine Literary Tour, I met fellow YA author Paula Chase whose debut title So Not the Drama came out in March 2007.  I also joined the AACBWI listserve and Black YA/MG Authors listserve. 

I also did some book talks and signings at my alma mater as well as Glenville High School in Cleveland, Ohio, libraries in my hometown, and events that chapters of my sorority held in their city.  I spent a lot of time on the Internet looking at library websites to ask them to consider adding Freshman Focus to their collection.

All of that while working full time and trying to write the second book.

What’s funny and a lot of people don’t get this is, it takes energy to write a book.  I’m already a procrastinator and easily distracted so I have a couple of more crosses to bear in order to write a book.  And I know people mean well when they ask about the book, but sometimes I don’t want to talk about it.  I don’t even know how people who are married and have kids manage to tend to their families and write a book, but somehow we get it done.  Our stories become a part of us and they call to us sometimes in the middle of the night when we should be sleeping.  Sometimes one of my characters comes to mind while I’m driving or working out.  Basically whenever I am not at a computer or have pen and paper nearby.

It takes mental and creative energy to get inside the head(s) of your character(s).  And some days I would rather just curl up with somebody else’s book and forget all about my own characters.  Like Jill Scott says, “I’m human” and I love to read.

