Wouldn’t Take Nothing For My Journey Now 7

This is the final entry in my journey to publication and my reflections on life as a published author.  I’ve shared the steps I took to accomplish my goal, the things I’ve learned and some of the mistakes I made.  My journey as an author is not complete so from time to time look for an entry or two that shares my thoughts on being an author.

Next week, come back to read the excerpt from Just Be.

My life changed on January 6, 2007 – the day Freshman Focus arrived on my doorstep.  As I mentioned in a previous entry, I sent out an e-mail letting everybody know it was ready.  I’ve become busier as well as talk and think more about my books, writing, the website, and everything else that comes with being an author.

I’ve learned a lot about being an author in the past fourteen months.  Being an author goes beyond the ability to have written a book.  As an author, you have to network with other authors and trade war stories and glory moments.  I count my friendships with fellow authors as very vital because I am able to learn from them and their experiences.  I learn from my author friends and it helps me avoid recreating the wheel.

Since becoming an author, I’ve come across a lot of networking or promotional opportunities and many sound good.  A lot of them sound great and you get all excited thinking that you’re going to get to share your book with tons of people who will buy your book and tell others to buy your book.  You imagine all of these opportunities will lead to your book becoming a movie or a Disney movie or something major.  But then, the event comes and you’re one of X number of authors in a room with customers.

So I’ve learned to be smart and choose the events that I attend wisely.  I don’t want to go broke traveling the country to promote my books.  Just because an event has 500 people attending doesn’t mean that all 500 people will leave your table or booth with a copy of your book.

If you haven’t noticed, we’ve become a blog-oriented society. Even a lot of the newspapers have added a blog to their sites and it makes the daily news timelier with a chance for you to air your views on various articles.  I had to add a folder under my bookmarks of my favorite blogs that includes celebrity news blogs as well as author and book related blogs that keep me in the know about things that are going on in the industry and author community.

I’ve expanded my blogging efforts as a result of my affiliation with The Brown Bookshelf.  MySpace just wasn’t enough to rely on as my only blog so I hooked up with Word Press to be a more visible blogger.

Blogging is a great promotional tool and it allows me to attract new readers to my website and possibly my books.  It is also another outlet that helps me to write on a more regular basis and get my thoughts down on paper.

Ultimately I’ve learned that as an author, you are primarily responsible for your success and visibility whether you are self-published or not.  Just because traditionally published authors have agents and publicists does not mean that they don’t have to work to get their name out there to the masses – libraries, bookstores, teachers, readers – or network with other authors.  I’ve done the work, now I must share it with others.

3 Responses to “Wouldn’t Take Nothing For My Journey Now 7”

  1. Robert Michel Says:

    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Robert Michel

  2. Make Your Own Web Site » Make Your Own Web Site Says:

    Make Your Own Web Site » Make Your Own Web Site

    The keywords meta tag is another place where you can add in your keywords. The keywords meta tag is not used by Google, but some engines still use it. There is no need to repeat words in the keywords field. Some people think that adding the keywords“…

  3. sathish Says:

    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Robert Michel

Comments are closed.


