I Rock the Drop

Readergirlz rock and so does their Operation Teen Book Drop!  On April 17th, I will join the readergirlz and their supporters, including The Brown Bookshelf, as they drop books across America.  The readergirlz will be dropping 10,000 books at pediatric hospitals across the country and they are encouraging anyone who participates to drop books where teens can find them.

I was excited to read about Operation TBD, not because I can drop off a copy or two of Freshman Focus, but because of what it means on a larger scale.  I realized the other night I have a $16 credit at a local used bookstore so I plan to shop ‘til I drop there and take my purchases around the city of Charlotte near the local middle and high schools in addition to near other places teens congregate in Charlotte, like the malls.  Inspired by what I see on Oprah’s Big Give, I want to do my part in paying it forward by dropping books at a homeless shelter and a foster home.  I hope to think of other places that need books here in my community.  If you have suggestions, leave a comment in the blog.

So if you’re in Charlotte, be on the lookout for the Book Drop Fairy on 4.17.08.  If you want to be a part of Operation Book Drop, do so!  It’s open to everyone.  I hope you are inspired to participate and pass this along to others in your e-mail address book as we all support the readergirlz and teens reading great books!

Go forth and rock the drop!

3 Responses to “I Rock the Drop”

  1. Little Willow Says:

    Thank you!

  2. readergirlz Says:

    Thank you so much, Carla! Your post is inspirational!

    Lorie Ann Grover, ~readergirlz diva/author

  3. Beth Fehlbaum, author of Courage in Patience Says:

    I agree, your post is inspirational. I didn’t know about Operation TBD — I hope it’s something that’s done every year, because my book won’t be out until September. But I’ll definitely plan to donate some copies next year!
    Beth Fehlbaum, author

Comments are closed.


