New Blog Resource

For the last few months I’ve been working on a new feature for the blog.  If you’ve been to my website, you’ve seen my Recommended Reading for Teenagers list that I compiled last year after the release of Freshman Focus.  That list includes Ann Brashares’ Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, Carolyn Mackler’s The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things, and Louis Sachar’s Holes and Small Steps.

I initially created the list because I remember as a teacher spending many hours on the Internet, especially Amazon, compiling a list of authors to share with my students or assign them to read.  So being the helpful person that I am who has a web presence, I wanted to create something that others could use.  Save others time and energy.  

Thanks to my involvement with The Brown Bookshelf, I’ve become more aware of the authors who are either African American or their target audience are African Americans.  So I’ve updated that list to feature those authors and their titles and created the Young Adult Library which is a static page here on the blog.  The library will be updated 3 – 4 times a year as new titles are released.

So if you like Rita Williams Garcia, Sharon Draper, Walter Dean Myers, I invite you to check out Coe Booth, Derrick Barnes, Allison Whittenberg, and me.

