5 on the 5th

Today is my Wax Poetic about 5 Things that I Love Blog Day.

In other words, random blog.

 

North Carolina is groovy thanks to Early Voting.   Saturday, I woke up and remembered thanks to watching the news that it was the last day I could do early voting for Tuesday’s primary vote in NC.  So I went grocery shopping, mailed some letters, and went to the library right at 10:00 thinking I could be back home by 10:30 to watch The Mighty B on Nickelodeon.  WRONG!!  The line was out the door.  So I grabbed my MP3 player, headphones and stood in line behind a 27 year old man who registered to vote for the first time that day.  Made it inside by 10:55 and was done voting by 11:10. 

  

I love that we get to vote early.  In 2004, I early voted for the first time and got in line at noon.  The line, at the same library, was out the door and around 3 of the 4 library walls.  Yikes!  I didn’t have an MP3 player that day or even a book with me to while away the time.

  

So viva la early voting!  You really rock my socks.  But in November, when I go to early vote, I will be in line by 8 with a book in hand and my MP3 player.

 

 

Cartoons.  I love cartoons.  I grew up loving cartoons.  From Tom and Jerry to Bugs Bunny to Woody Woodpecker to the Smurfs and a gamut of others.  In my adult years, I have loved The Proud Family, Recess, Pepper Ann, As Told By Ginger, Spongebob Squarepants and The Boondocks.  Sometime in the last year, I have added two more to my list – The Adventures of Jimmy Neutron and The Fairly Oddparents.  Every morning at 7:00 before I leave for work, I at least watch the theme song and opening credits of The Fairly Oddparents.   And now Nickelodeon has added a new one called The Mighty B.  Girl Scout with a lisp does incredible things and always comes out on top.

 

 

 

 

 

Chocolate Turtle Chex Mix  This stuff rocks!  I never ate Chex Mix until this year and this is so good.  Unsalted pretzels, caramel corn, tiny M&Ms, and the chex mix stuff.  Yummy for my tummy, but I think I must give it up for the summer.

  

Ben and Jerry’s Ice Cream.  Last week was free scoop day at Ben and Jerry’s.  I went on my lunch hour and had a scoop of ONE Cheesecake Brownie.  Awesomely yummy.  I was a bit surprised to see so many kids there during the day getting a scoop only to get back in line for another and another.  Surely not all of these kids are home schooled.

  

My favorite flavors are Phish Food, Vanilla Heath Toffee, Peach Cobbler and ONE Cheesecake Brownie.

 

 

 

HGTV.  I don’t know who introduced me to the wonder that is HGTV, but God bless them for it.   I love this channel, especially Hidden Potential, House Hunters, Divine Design, Spice up My Kitchen, and Deserving Design.  I love to see the transformations that can occur and the vast difference between the before and the after.  I see different things done on these shows and add them to my “I want that in my house” list.

 

One Response to “5 on the 5th”

  1. Spongebob » 5 on the 5th Says:

    […] carlasarratt wrote an interesting post today on 5 on the 5thHere’s a quick excerptIn my adult years, I have loved The Proud Family, Recess, Pepper Ann, As Told By Ginger, Spongebob Squarepants and The Boondocks. Sometime in the last year, I have added two more to my list – The Adventures of Jimmy Neutron and The … […]

Comments are closed.


