Headed to Boot Camp

I’m headed to boot camp this evening after work.  No, I didn’t join the military.  This is a fitness boot camp for women.  I have my gym membership with Planet Fitness, but I don’t always go and when I go I work out but don’t always exercise to the best of my ability.  So while watching Toccara transform on Celebrity Fit Club: Boot Camp, I became inspired to do something for me once and for all. 

It helps that I want to lose weight for a cruise in September, but I want to be physically healthy and get back to a certain size in clothes.  I recently looked at a picture of myself from junior year in college and I was shocked at how small I was in comparison to now.  I never battled weight until after college and it never became an issue for me until I moved to Charlotte.  But it’s time for me to divorce the blubber that clings to me.  So I let my fingers do the walking and clicking, headed to Google and found Bringing Sexy Back Boot Camp.  Starting today, I go three days a week with a group of women for 45 minutes. 

Unlike CFC, Harvey Walden IV won’t be around so that means I won’t have to say “Hoo-Rah.”  I won’t stand on some big scale and be dressed down for not losing 5 pounds in a week.  I don’t even think there are weekly weigh ins, lol.  

The Boot Camp is about more than just the exercise, it’s diet too.  I don’t have to go on a diet, but I will improve my diet.  Part of the Boot Camp contract is no sweets and no alcohol.  I’ve added to the No List.  For me, the No List is No Sweets, No Alcohol, No Pop, No Fried Foods, and No Fast Food.  Subway is not included.  If it worked for Jared and The Biggest Loser contestants, it can and will work for me too.

So that means when I go home this week, no carrot cake from a family member’s restaurant.  It means no chicken wings and fries from Hot Sauce Williams.  I can’t toast a drink with my family on the release of my second book, unless it’s water, orange juice, or pomegranate blueberry juice. 

But even though I have to give up certain things that I like while in boot camp, I will gain as well as lose.  I gain energy as I lose pounds and inches.  I gain new clothes as I get rid of the clothes that no longer fit my body as I go back down the size chart.  I gain health and years added to my life as I lose body fat. 

It’s not going to be pretty. 

I’m going in.

4 Responses to “Headed to Boot Camp”

  1. beginnerfitnessjunkie Says:

    Good for you! Keep us posted on your progress—I’m looking forward to hearing all about boot camp!
    ~Angela

  2. carlasarratt Says:

    I’m about to do a Day 1 Post Boot Camp Blog right now. But the good news is that I am only sweaty and tired, nothing is sore just yet. 🙂

  3. Darnetta Says:

    No Hot Sauce Williams fries??? OMGoodness…how are you gonna survive…lol

    Good luck sis!

  4. carlasarratt Says:

    I will not drive past it. And will not be around them when they do. LOL

Comments are closed.


